Nova Scotia anyone?


I lived in Canada for about 2 and a half years.

Based in Toronto, I largely spent my time living out of a suitcase as I traveled back and forth across the provinces for work.

I had a national position in the company I worked for requiring long hours, endless travel, many lost suitcases and hours of waiting at airports.

As it came close to the end of my working time, my work visa had to be renewed (of course), and at the time the only place I could have it renewed was in Nova Scotia.

I’d been to Nova Scotia many times in the preceding 2 years but it was always an ‘in and out job’ so there was never any time to explore farther afield than the city of Halifax.

On this occasion I HAD to stay the duration while they re-issued my visa, estimated at 4 to 5 days.

I figured it wasn’t really going to be a hardship and just made sure I had my computer with me so I could work from my hotel room, or anywhere else I desired…

So over the weekend I was there I hired a car and took myself off along the Lighthouse Trail route.

The famous lighthouse at Peggys Cove marks the eastern entrance of St. Margarets Bay and is officially known as the Peggys Point Lighthouse.

It is one of the prime attractions  of the lighthouse trail and is situated only 43kms from Halifax.

There has been much folklore created to explain the name of this quaint country town.

One story suggests the village may have been named after the wife of an early settler.

A popular legend claims that the name came from the sole survivor of a shipwreck at Halibut Rock near the cove.

One resident said she was a young woman while others claim she was little more than a girl, too young to remember her name, and the family who adopted her called her Peggy.

The young shipwreck survivor is said to have married a resident of the cove and became known as “Peggy of the Cove” attracting visitors from around the bay who eventually named the village, Peggy’s Cove, after her nickname.

I found it a magical place.

The day I spent there was crowded with mist and as you looked towards the horizon, the sea and sky became the same..

I have to say that the welcome sign exaggerates the population numbers … I believe the population is less than 50 people…. but everything else about Peggys Cove was a dream, and the locals seemed to enjoy our company… I hope to make it back there soon…

Leave a Reply

